seeing eye to eye

8 01 2008

My husband and I are coming up on our two-month anniversary. Like most couples, our politics and political actions are very similar. Of the two of us though, he is certainly more even-keeled.

When I get an idea in my head – usually some way we can reduce our carbon footprint – I tend to go full-throttle until I’m running on empty. Sometimes, when I’m sharing my latest idea with him, I’ll see him open one eye a little further than the other. It’s just the tiniest micro-movement, but it’s there. I don’t think he knows he’s doing it, but it tells me what he’s thinking. And that’s when I know that I’m starting to sound like a crazy lady, talking on the city street corner. But he still listens to me, and doesn’t tell me I’m crazy. This is one of the many reasons I love him.

As I discuss this summer’s garden with him, occasionally I see that one eye open a little further. I think he worries that we will be living on an urban homestead before the end of the summer. I know I can’t stretch myself that thin, but that doesn’t stop me from being inspired by people like the Dervaes in Pasadena.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

