to the beet

10 01 2008

As I’ve mentioned already, one of the challenges with receiving a local food box, is switching your frame of mind from cooking that is driven completely by whim, to cooking that considers the supplies you have. Sometimes when we get a food box order I think, “how the heck am I going to use up all these whatchamacallits?”

Last night, I discovered an excess of beets in supply at the house. Somehow they’d been shoved to the back of our storage area and now I have to use them up quickly or else they will go to waste. Maybe I’ll follow Stacey’s idea over at Just Braise, and make a chocolate beet cake.

Actions

Information

One response

10 01 2008
greenlivingottawa

Hmmm, I think we might be part of the same CSA ; )

We’ve caught up with the beets. Michaelmas salad is a great way to use up root vegetables. I got my recipe from Celtic Folklore Cooking, but it is a traditional dish so there are probably other books you could find it in.

We’ve got a back log of turnips. They are lovely turnips, but we just haven’t been cooking enough of them.

Love the blog. Gorgeous photos too!

Leave a Reply

