winter blah blah blah

10 01 2008

I arrived home from work last night with a serious case of the winter blahs. At first, I didn’t know what had hit me (the winter blahs are good at sneaking up from behind), but I walked in the door and suddenly felt like doing nothing. I wasn’t tired, just empty – those are the winter blahs. My husband had made an early dinner and by 7:15, having eaten, the only thing that inspired me was the thought of going to bed. But I wasn’t really tired – or not physically tired, at least.

So, I decided I needed to do SOMETHING. I mentally pulled and prodded myself out of the blahs long enough to start a soup. I diced the onions, chopped up the turnips and parsnips, added some carrots, and let the stock simmer beside me as I did the dishes. The dishes done, I looked around the kitchen, searching for something else to keep me there… my cookbooks! I always enjoy rifling through them when I have extra time. By the time the stock was done, I’d felt inspired by several recipes and my head felt clearer. I felt connected again.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

