rhubarb, how do i love thee?

26 01 2008
Let me count the ways, starting with this recipe for rhubarb vodka, adapted from one by Nigella Lawson. This drink reminds me of June, the month when all I want is more, and more, and more fresh rhubarb. In the winter months, I pour it into a glass and watch the light play tricks with it. And the taste? Oh, the taste sends me over the moon!

Rhubarb Vodka

1.5 lbs chopped rhubarb
1.14L vodka
1 1/4 cups of sugar

Divide the rhubarb, sugar and vodka into some sterilized jars and cap tightly. Shake them all up and store in a dark place. (I leave mine in the fridge.) Shake the jars regularly over the next few weeks. Serve chilled, and share only with your most cherished friends.

Actions

Information

9 responses

28 01 2008
Aimee

Exquisite color in that liquor!

1 02 2008
Pat

Mmmm. Imagine a rhubarb pie, using Rhubarb Vodka to replace the water in the pie crust dough!!!

13 03 2008
the best freezer finds! « hit pay dirt

[…] you already know, I have a bit of a thing for rhubarb. And this week I found a few bags of frozen rhubarb in the bottom of my freezer. It makes me a […]

27 05 2008
Rhu the day… « hit pay dirt

[…] season for rhubarb has most CERTAINLY begun up in the Ottawa area. But in your frenzy for all the lovely dishes you can make with the fresh stuff, remember to freeze some rhubarb for those cold winter […]

12 06 2008
rhubarb giveaways « hit pay dirt

[…] Oh, and if you’re looking for a naughtier version of this libation, be sure to check out this post. […]

24 06 2008
time flies « hit pay dirt

[…] towards the slurpalicious rhubarb juice recipe, with a decent sized portion towards the decadent rhubarb vodka. And I topped off a few of the bags in our freezer with the […]

17 04 2009
the666bbq

this Nigella recipe is awsome indeed, my friends like it so much that they ask “do you have it this year” when they visit 😉

But I’m wondering though how you got this color (even more intense than the original recipe), mine is greener like the peeled rhubarb. Is it the rhubarb variety, do you use forced fhubarb, … ?

18 04 2009
gillian

I’ve made this recipe several times and each time the colour is slightly different. I don’t peel the rhubarb nor force it. I have to agree that the batch that appears in this photo has the best colour. I suspect I used more of the pink stalks and fewer green stalks to get this colour but it really is anyone’s guess. Good luck with your next batch!

17 06 2009
hello FLAVOUR! « hit pay dirt

[…] 17 06 2009 Well for all you Googlers who have been finding me with your rhubarb searches, I have yet another treat for you. If you like flavours with a tangy zing […]

Leave a Reply

