force of nature

31 01 2008

With all the local food that I store in my house, you’d think that I would be a bit stingy on giving up fridge space. But no, every fall for the past three years, I have given up a shelf in the fridge so that I can force plant bulbs. This year I have four different pots of forced bulbs and they are all starting to poke their little heads out of the soil. In this photo you can see my tulips coming to life.

I know I could buy these at the grocery store already in full bloom – and with a lot less effort on my part – but then I would miss out on the process. I feel like such a little kid, but every morning I go downstairs and look to see how much they’ve grown. These bulbs are a taste of spring in the depths of winter.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

