parsnippets

10 03 2008
When Whatshisname and I had been dating for about a year, one night I planned a lovely velvety-rich parsnip soup for dinner. I was so excited for this soup, having gone out and purchased ingredients with it in mind. There’s nothing like a cookbook write-up to tantalize the tastebuds. But when I made it, it was just so-so, and my beloved announced that parsnips were not for him.

A few years later, we now receive parsnips with every food box delivery we get. I’ve been eating some of them, and hiding the rest in the back of the fridge. A few days ago, my beloved found my stash and asked me if I was going to eat them, or if we should throw them out. I didn’t want to throw them out.

Desperate times call for desperate measures! So I roasted them with salt and butter – because, as he says, everything tastes good when it’s cooked with salt and butter. The parsnips became sweet and chewy. I threw them atop some winter salad greens, along with some local chevre, and an apple cider vinaigrette. The result? I think I can keep the parsnips out of their hiding place. We’ll definitely be making this salad again.

Actions

Information

2 responses

13 03 2008
Sandy

Mmmm! Parsnips are one vegetable I have yet to try roasting. Can’t wait!
My kids are on a roasted Brussels sprouts kick, so that’s pretty much a winter staple; maybe I can start something new with your parsnips.
Thanks!
Sandy
http://www.LocalFoodBlog.com

13 03 2008
gillian

And I will try your suggestion with brussel sprouts Sandy! I’ve never roasted them before but they are one of my favourite veggies. 🙂

Leave a Reply

