the best freezer finds!

13 03 2008

As you already know, I have a bit of a thing for rhubarb. And this week I found a few bags of frozen rhubarb in the bottom of my freezer. It makes me a little bit manic for the fresh stuff that will come in just a few months.

I discovered this recipe over five years ago when my parents were visiting me. At the time, I was teaching in Germany and they were coming to ‘check up on me’ (and also, surely, to enjoy my hostessing-with-the-mostessing abilities!). It was a Sunday, when all the service industries in Germany had come to a grinding halt, and I’d invited some friends over for brunch. My tiny apartment was overcrowded but it was a lovely get-together with address exchanges and such. I must say though, I think these Rhubarb Bars were the highlight. Everyone asked for the recipe.

Here it is again – in all its creamy, tangy goodness!

Rhubarb Bars (With thanks to Jeanne Lemlin, Simple Vegetarian Pleasures)

The Crust:

  • ¾ cup of butter
  • 1/3 cup of sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups flour
  • ½ tsp salt

Preheat oven to 350 Fahrenheit. Make the crust by combining the butter sugar, egg, and vanilla in a large bowl and beat untll very smooth. Add flour and salt and beat until dough is evenly moistened – no more! Scrape crumbly dough into 9×13 baking dish and using your fingers, press it evenly onto the boom of the dish. Bake for 15 minutes.

The Topping:

  • 2 eggs
  • 4 cups or 1.5 lbs of sliced rhubarb
  • 1 ½ cups of sugar
  • ½ cup of flour
  • ½ tsp allspice
  • ½ tsp cinnamon
  • ½ tsp salt

Beat eggs in large bowl. Stir in the remaining ingredients. When crust is done, remove pan from oven. Pour on topping and spread evenly. Bake 45 minutes. Cool and cut before serving.

Genießen Sie!

Actions

Information

One response

27 05 2008
Rhu the day… « hit pay dirt

[…] for rhubarb has most CERTAINLY begun up in the Ottawa area. But in your frenzy for all the lovely dishes you can make with the fresh stuff, remember to freeze some rhubarb for those cold winter months. […]

Leave a Reply

