my subconscious is working against me

9 04 2008

I ♥ coffee. And I know I’m not the only one, but SO MUCH do I love a good cup of coffee that I try to drink only the awesome good stuff, like this brew. And this ardent love also means that I don’t have coffee every day (gasp, I know!) because it really is such a treat. Or at least it used to be.

Usually, I do my bringing-home-the-bacon from an office located on the outskirts of the city. This was the shortest commute for which I was qualified. (Qualified for what, you ask? Well, I am still figuring that out.) But for the past few weeks, my boss has got me working deep in the downtown jungle, in a client’s office. The commute is not as hellacious as some, but there are still days where I feel a bit sorry for myself – until I start wondering if my boss is trying to re-locate me into unemployment. But let’s not go there.

So what do I find deep in the downtown jungle – to the left, to the right, and across the street? Coffee shops! Good ones! Fair-trade-I-can-still-pretend-I’m-virtuous ones! I was walking back from one of them just a short while ago, when I remembered myself and my new treat mentality.

I can be so easily influenced. But, now that I’m finished this latest cup, back in the saddle I go. No coffee until I sort things out with my subconscious!

Actions

Information

3 responses

9 04 2008
Kathy

Me and my coffee-snobbing co-workers get our coffee from ideal coffee. Prince of Darkness completely rocks! We’ve checked out the Equator website but sadly no one lives near Almonte and our coffee club money is too cheap to ship. 🙂

9 04 2008
gillian

Thanks Kathy! I will check out ideal next time I’m in the GTA. And if you and your coffee club really do want to try Equator – you can always look for them here: http://equator.ca/contactus/outlets.asp

Cheers!

10 04 2008
i-i-i-i’m n-o-o-ttt jjjjjitttterry « hit pay dirt

[…] n-o-o-ttt jjjjjitttterry 10 04 2008 No seriously, I’m NOT jittery and I haven’t had a cup of coffee this morning. Does that mean I’m not addicted? I’m not really sure what coffee does to […]

Leave a Reply

