Rhu the day…

27 05 2008

…that’s what you’ll do, if you don’t find some rhubarb for freezing soon! The season for rhubarb has most CERTAINLY begun up in the Ottawa area. But in your frenzy for all the lovely dishes you can make with the fresh stuff, remember to freeze some rhubarb for those cold winter months. It’s so ridiculously easy you’d be kicking yourself if you didn’t.

Once you hunt down the not-so-elusive rhubarb patch (hopefully with the owner’s consent) pull as much of it as you think is reasonable. That’s right, PULL. Don’t pull the new stalks that are still finding their way, but the young stalks that have pushed their way to the top are definitely fair game. The rhubarb should come out of the ground easily.

Then, with your machete – and WHO doesn’t have one of these on their hipster belt?!? – hack off the poisonous leaf, as well as an inch off the end that you just pulled from the ground. Once you’re done harvesting the stalks, bring your haul inside for some washing.

Lastly, chop the rhubarb stalks up into pieces – the pieces should be half an inch to an inch long. Throw them into a freezer-friendly bag, seal, and toss it all into the freezer.

Come February, when you can use this frozen stash in all your favourite rhubarb recipes, your taste buds will thank you!

Actions

Information

8 responses

27 05 2008
Greeen_grrl

Clearly I need to get to my Mum and Dad’s asap and snag some of their rhubarb! Luuuuv rhubarb.

27 05 2008
Green_grrl

Clearly it is too late to be posting as I can’t spell my own name. 😉

28 05 2008
Kathy

Good tips! I’m about to harvest my second batch of rhubarb at home. It’s growing out like gangbusters! With the first harvest I made two batches of rhubarb jam and I’m just waiting for strawberries to come into season to make my all-time favourite strawberry rhubarb jam, second only to peach jam and then maybe apricot. This is a great time of year!

28 05 2008
Gillian

OH YUM! If you share recipes Kathy, I’d love to know yours for rhubarb jam. All the ones I have are for strawberry-rhubarb – which is definitely good – but rhubarb jam sounds fantastic!

And great to see you here Greeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeen Girl! 😀

28 05 2008
Nancy Bond

We freeze rhubarb every year, after making some of those delicious dishes and rhubarb-pineapple jam (super easy, made with Jello). It’s a real treat in the cold months. I’m happy to have found your blog! Thx for your visit.

28 05 2008
gillian

Thank YOU Nancy – I’m glad I found you too!

28 05 2008
merlotmudpies

I am so embarrassed to admit this: I have never, ever had rhubarb. WHAT? That’s right. I said it.

It’s too warm to grow rhubarb here now, but I will keep this on my list for next year. Promise.

1 06 2008
gillian

Even if you can’t grow it, surely you can sample it this year MMP??? I’m sure once you try it, you’ll regret having waited so long! 😀

Leave a Reply

