one person’s garbage…

8 06 2008

Believe it or not, even with the extra gardening bed, I’ve STILL run out of space for all the goodies that I want to plant. A few weeks ago, I was a little distraught when I realized that there was no room for my basil plants. I ADORE pesto. And I need a LOT of basil to make enough pesto to last me year round. Where would my basil plants go?!?

Thankfully, my parents had two large planters that they weren’t using this year, and they offered to let me use them. The only hitch was a warning from my mom that the planters seem to need an inordinate amount of water over the season. I wasn’t very happy with the thought of wasting so much water…

But, as luck would have it, my dad brought them over on the very same weekend that my beloved was tearing a rotting cedar roof off our shed. Rotting cedar, hmm… how about cedar mulch?!? An excellent solution to my water woes!

Actions

Information

2 responses

11 06 2008
sammyqc

I love pesto too. It is so delicious! One trick I’ve learnt is to use toasted sunflower seeds, or hemp seeds, instead of the oh-so-pricey pine nuts, and it tastes fabulous! Roasted tomato pesto is one of my favorites. I’ll eat it right there in the kitchen, spooning it out with my fingers, as I’m cooking dinner! Then wonder where all the pesto for the pasta went!

12 06 2008
gillian

A fellow pesto addict! I’ve made basil pesto, cilantro pesto, oregano pesto, tarragon pesto… but I haven’t yet made roasted tomato pesto! Sounds divine!

And thanks so much for the toasted sunflower seed and hemp seed tip. I usually don’t add pine nuts in because they’re soooooo not local. Or at least not that I’ve been able to find. NOW I’ve got a local substitute!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

