so much spinach!!

17 06 2008

Fresh spinach is ABOUND these days. It exploded in my garden about ten days ago and everyone at the Farmers’ Markets has it for sale. But you and I both know that there is only so much spinach salad one person can eat. So what should you do with this bounty? Freeze it for the winter! That’s right, it’s super easy and you’ll be so glad you did.

But how, you ask? Well, first wash the spinach and remove any stems from the older leaves. Stems on young leaves don’t need to be removed. Then blanch the spinach EVER so briefly. I used a steamer and steamed in small batches… as soon as I saw the leaves wilting, I took them out right away. Next, submerge the spinach in ice cold water IMMEDIATELY. If you find that the spinach breaks up easily into little pieces as you do this then you’re blanching for too long. When the spinach has cooled off, take it out and drain it in a colander. Put the spinach in a container or bowl, see if you can squeeze out a little more water by pressing against the leaves, and then put it in the freezer. If you like, you can thaw it briefly an hour or so later and knock the frozen piece into a freezer-proof bag.

You may want to use small containers, or an ice cube tray to freeze the spinach. When dinner time comes next winter, pull out as many pieces of this lovely treat as you like, throw it in a pot to heat up, and ENJOY!

Actions

Information

2 responses

18 06 2008
zchamu

Argh, my spinach isn’t even sprouting. I think my garden hates me.

18 06 2008
gillian

Hmmm… I’m afraid I can’t give any tips on spinach. I didn’t plant it from seed – a friend gave me a bunch of seedlings. If it’s any consolation, I planted over 30 pea seeds about two months ago and only two have come up.

Don’t give up on your garden though! I’m sure it will grow to love you. 😀

Leave a Reply

