easy as pie?

26 08 2008

On my unwritten-somewhat-fuzzy list of things to do before I die, I have listed “Learn how to make pie.” Pie making seems to me this up-on-a-pedestal kind of skill that takes a magic touch. I think my fear of pie making comes from my mom (yep – add that to the Guilt List, Mom!) who always said that she could never make a good pie crust. When I’ve mentioned my fear to other people, they always smile and say “Oh, it’s EASY.” Smug people.

Well, I still don’t know how to make pie, but I managed to get halfway there last weekend with some peach pie FILLING. This scrumptious filling can be canned and saved for later… for example, when you finally figure out how to make the stupid pie crust! Once again, this was thanks to my handy dandy copy of the Bernardin Complete Book of Home Preserving.

Peach Pie Filling

  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 2 tsp whole cloves
  • 12 cups peeled & sliced peaches – treated to prevent browning, and drained*
  • 2 cups peeled apples – treated to prevent browning, and drained*
  • 2 and 2/3 cup sugar
  • 2 Tbsp lemon zest
  • ½ cup lemon juice
  • ¼ cup white vinegar
  • ½ tsp ground nutmeg

If you don’t have one already, make a spice bag for the cinnamon and cloves by tying a square of cheesecloth together.

In a large saucepan, combine the peaches, apples, sugar, lemon zest and juice, vinegar, nutmeg, and spice bag. Bring to a boil over medium high heat, stirring frequently. Reduce heat, cover and boil gently until thickened – DON’T be like me and get impatient for this part.

When it’s thickened, place the mixture into sterilized jars, leaving 1 inch of head room and process in a canner for 15 minutes.

*To prevent browning, slice the fruit into a mixture of 1 Tbsp lemon juice per 4 cups of water.

Actions

Information

2 responses

26 08 2008
Mom

So take a cooking class with your birthday $!…….

5 09 2008
Vicki

I need to hook you up with my hubby, he dedicated at least a year of his life in quest of making the perfect pie crust. I personally believe he achieved success – but in all honesty – I didn’t mind sampling what he deemed to be the “duds” either.

He LOVES peaches so I propose that you bring the filling, he’ll bring the instructions, flour, cold water, and other fine ingredients. 🙂

Leave a Reply

