catch up!

29 08 2008

Today marks the end of my peachy week. And I have saved the BEST recipe for last. This is a recipe that will make people arch their eyebrows when they first hear the name. But then when you serve them a bite, their eyes will widen with surprise and they will eagerly await a second bite. I say, hold off sharing that second bite unless you REALLY think they’re worth it. What is it, you ask? Tomato Peach Ketchup!!

I have trouble thinking of the word ketchup without picturing Uma Thurman in Pulp Fiction. If you don’t know why, well then… ketchup! Ohhh, I crack myself up… Anyways, my beloved wants me to change the name of this concoction. He says that it is most definitely not ketchup. I say it is what ketchup should have always been. HEY HEINZ – YOU’RE NOT THE ONLY KINDS!!!

I love to serve this ketchup with slices of old cheddar and some crisp crackers. I gave a jar to a friend and she poured some over a few chicken breasts and baked them with a thick slice of brie on top. It’s quite versatile, so be creative!

The recipe was given to me during a food preservation workshop held at the Urban Element cooking studio. Since then I’ve modified it some more. Don’t worry though – I didn’t mess with the acidity, so you should have no qualms about canning this ketchup and keeping it on your shelf.

Tomato Peach Ketchup

A warning first though, you will need a BIG pot to make this.

  • 12 1/2 lbs of peaches and tomatoes combined
  • 6 cups of cider vineagar
  • 3 tsp salt
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 3 tsp mustard seed
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 1 large ginger root finely grated
  • 2 tsp grated cloves

Chop the peaches and tomatoes. Combine everything in a large pot except the sugar. Simmer and reduce for approximately 1 hour, stirring occasionally. Add the sugar and cook for 15 minutes more. Pulse mixture briefly in a food processor until a desired consistency is reached – and be careful adding too much hot liquid in the food processor – it can blow the top off if there’s too much! Place misture in hards and process in a hot water bath for five minutes.

Happy Peaches!


Actions

Information

Leave a comment