escape artists

15 09 2008

You KNOW it’s time to harvest your beets when they start pushing themselves out of your garden bed. This weekend I found several beets trying to make a break for it, but I’m pretty sure I corralled them all. And I’m so glad I did! I had meant to use a recipe for beet soup from Canadian Living magazine (they have awesome recipes on that site!). But when I got myself all set up in the kitchen , I realized that I was missing half the ingredients. And so I got creative. The result, I’m proud to say, was FANTASTIC. If you have any escape artists in your bed, I recommend you give this a try:

Gillian’s Beet Soup

  • 3 Tbsp butter
  • 2 medium-sized onions
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 4-5 large beets with ends removed
  • 1 potato
  • 5 cups of water – maybe slightly more
  • ½ Tbsp ground coriander
  • 3 Tbsp white wine vinegar
  • 3 Tbsp chopped flat-leaf parsley
  • sour cream

Heat the butter – yes, I cook with butter! – to medium in a large saucepan. Chop the onions finely and fry them in the butter until softened. Mince the garlic and add to onions. Add coriander. Chop the beets and potato into smallish pieces. Add beets, potato and water. Cook until beets and potato are soft… probably about 15 minutes. Take half of the soup and blend it – if you’re not using a handheld blender, be very careful!! Hot soups can blow the lid off a blender if you try to blend too much at once. Don’t learn this lesson the way I did!!! Return the puree to the saucepan. Stir in vinegar and chopped parsley. Serve immediately with a dollop of sour cream in each bowl.

Yum!

Actions

Information

One response

16 11 2008
reflecting on the season « hit pay dirt

[…] spring. And now, I am overrun with beets. Sure, I could make pickled beets, beet relish, or more yummy beet soup, but I risk starting to turn purple at that rate. So my first lesson – and a BIG one – is knowing […]

Leave a Reply

