them apples: take two

22 01 2009

So what to do with all those apples…? How about my favourite – the ever so easy apple crisp? Yes, in fact it’s SO easy, why am I even bothering to post a recipe for it? I mean, you could probably make apple crisp with your eyes CLOSED… right? Well that’s what I thought for years, having tossed away the recipe card for apple crisp sometime in my late teens. By then I was making it with one hand tied behind my back. And after that I graduated to TWO hands behind my back! I mean, come on, who REALLY needs an apple crisp recipe?!?

You do.

Yes. You need this recipe I am about to give you. You need it more than you know, because until you make it you will be missing out on the best darn apple crisp you have ever tasted.

Best Darn Apple Crisp (from one of my favourites The New Best Recipe)

Topping

  • 6 Tbsps all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 tsp each of cinnamon, nutmeg and salt
  • 5 Tbsps cold unsalted butter, cut into 1/2 inch squares
  • 3/4 cup chopped nuts

Filling

  • 6 medium apples (The authors of TNBR recommend a mix of Granny Smith and McIntosh, but I’ve tried this dish with Ida Reds, Cortlands, McIntoshes… you name it)
  • 1.5 Tbsp of lemon juice (or for a little more LOCAL zing, substitute with apple cider vinegar – yowza!)
  • 1/4 cup sugar

Place the dry topping ingredients (not the nuts though) in a food processor and pulse briefly. Add the butter and pulse until the mixture looks like coarse cornmeal. Add the nuts and pulse briefly a few more times. Heat the oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit. Quarter and core the apples – some people like to peel them as well, but I prefer to leave the skins on. Toss the apples with the sugar and the lemon juice or apple cider vinegar. Put the mixture into an 8×8 inch square pan or a 9-inch pie plate. Sprinkle the topping evenly on top and place into the oven for 40 minutes or until the topping is golden brown.

Enjoy with abandon because before you know it, it will all be gone. Thank goodness it’s so easy to make. You’ll be making it again and again and again!

Actions

Information

4 responses

22 01 2009
Green_grrl

That sounds yum! Like you I threw out my apple crisp recipe long ago and have been making it from memory ever since. It’s time I made it from a proper recipe. Looking forward to trying this one.

And also have been meaning to say…congratulations to you and your beloved on your soon to be new addition. V. exciting! 🙂

26 01 2009
gillian

Thanks very much Green_grrl! And let me know what you think of the apple crisp recipe – I’m curious if others find it as addictive as I do!

28 01 2009
tammy

I tried this and I have to say that the peels left on wasnt as good as i thought it would be! Will try again taking the peels off…

28 01 2009
gillian

Thanks for your thoughts, Tammy! I like the different texture that the peels provide but I think I may be in the minority. I know lots of people who prefer a more consistent texture.

Leave a Reply

